What I’m Eating, part 1

One of the things I’ve loved since I was a kid was broccoli.  Suffice to say when I discovered broccoli salad I was pretty happy.  For years I’d always go to the deli section of whatever store had it and buy a container when I wanted some, and for years I kept hearing “you can make that at home and it would be just as good” though I never believed it until now.

Last night after several hours of Destiny with my friend Nick and some drunkards that he knew I decided to make some broccoli salad of my own.  I was very skeptical that it would turn out after seeing it all mixed in the bowl, but I covered it and put it in the fridge anyway.  Today, before going to work I decided to sample my concoction and see if I was any good.  Needless to say I’ll be making more of it in the future, but probably with a lot less red onion and MORE BACON!


  • 2 heads of fresh broccoli
  • 1/2 pound of bacon
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 red onion
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

Directions:

Cook the bacon, cool and crumble it up.  Cut the broccoli into bite sized pieces and dice the onion.  Combine the broccoli with the bacon, onion, raisins and nuts and mix well.

To prepare the dressing, mix the mayo, sugar and vinegar together until smooth.  Stir it into the salad and let it chill before serving.

Substitutions:  I switched out the almonds for walnuts and think the flavor is just as good.  I also used Duke’s mayonnaise.


 

